COMMISSION ON MINISTRY

The Commission on Ministry is established pursuant to Title III of the Canons of The Episcopal Church and Canon XXX of the Episcopal Diocese of Pittsburgh in order to advise and assist the bishop "in the determination of present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons; and in the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry, and assessment of readiness therefore."

Since the 2015 Diocesan Convention, the Commission on Ministry will have met six times, including the annual Winter Interview Day and Ministry Exploration Day. Highlights of the year include:

- Thirteen individuals participated in the Annual Winter Interview Day with the bishop, Commission on Ministry, and Standing Committee on January 16, 2016. The commission and Standing Committee had informal interviews with eight individuals in the discernment/ordination process, four initial interviews with nominees, and one candidacy interview.
- The bishop ordained Joe Baird and Alyse Viggiano to the Sacred Order of Deacons at Trinity Cathedral on June 4, 2016. The bishop ordained Garrett Yates to the Sacred Order of Priests on March 19, 2016, at St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon, and Dan Isadore to the Sacred Order of Priests on June 5, 2016, at St. Andrew's, Highland Park.
- Four individuals took General Ordination Exams in January.
- With the consent of the Standing Committee, the bishop granted candidacy to Joe Baird, Doug Kinsey, and Alyse Viggiano. Subsequently all were approved for ordination.
- The commission and bishop accepted the nominations of Ms. Julie Smith of Redeemer, Squirrel Hill, and Mr. Brandon Mozingo of St. Peter's, Brentwood.
- Ministry Exploration Day was held on May 14, 2016, at St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon. Approximately 30 people participated, including potential nominees for Holy Orders with spouses and clergy.
- The Commission adopted a new and revised version of *Discerning and Responding to a Call to Holy Orders* on July 26, 2016.

The Rev. Michelle Boomgaard was elected by Diocesan Convention to serve a three-year term. The Rev. Scott Russell, rector of St. Brendan's, Franklin Park, resigned from the commission upon leaving the diocese to serve as a university chaplain in another diocese. The Standing Committee appointed the Rev. Eric McIntosh to fill the unexpired term. The Rev. Tim Hushion resigned from the commission upon leaving the diocese to accept a call to a parish in another diocese. The Rev. Lynn Chester Edwards, retired priest, and Ms. Jessie Hipolit, Emmanuel, North Side and Ms. Carolyn Booker, St. Stephen's, Wilkinsburg, will complete their terms at the end of the year, and we thank them for their faithful service.

The bishop appointed two new members to serve three-year terms effective September 1st: the Rev. Jonathon Jensen of Calvary, East Liberty, and the Rev. Lorena Ringle of Christ Church, North Hills.

I thank Bishop McConnell for his leadership and support, and the members of the commission for their service during the year: Ms. Carolyn Booker, St. Stephen's, Wilkinsburg; the Rev. Michelle Boomgaard, St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon; the Rev. Lynn Chester Edwards, retired priest; Ms. Bethany Hamill, Christ

Church, North Hills; Ms. Jessie Hipolit, Emmanuel, North Side; the Rev. Kris Opat, St. David's, Peters Township; Mr. Steve Stagnitta, St. Andrew's, Highland Park; the Rev. Ann Staples, St. Thomas, Northern Cambria; Ms. Daryl Walker, All Saints, Brighton Heights; and *ex-officio* as staff, the Rev. Scott Quinn, Canon Pastor, the Rev. Jay Geisler, Canon for Formation, and the Rev. Ted Babcock, Director of Administration.

Respectfully submitted, The Rev. Louis B. Hays Chairperson