COMMISSION ON MINISTRY

The Commission on Ministry is established pursuant to Title III of the Canons of the Episcopal Church and Canon XXX of the Episcopal Diocese of Pittsburgh in order to advise and assist the bishop "in the determination of present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons; and in the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry, and assessment of readiness therefore." (Title III, Canon 2, Section 2, Constitution and Canons of the Episcopal Church, 2006)

Since the 2013 Diocesan Convention, the Commission on Ministry will have met eight times, including the winter interview day and the annual ordination exploration day. Highlights of the year include:

- The Commission and Standing Committee had informal interviews with nine individuals in the discernment process and one candidacy interview at the winter interview day.
- The Bishop ordained Ben DeHart and Eric McIntosh to the Sacred Order of Priests at Trinity Cathedral on January 11, 2014; Bert Daly to the Sacred Order of Deacons at Trinity Cathedral on June 21, 2014; and William Ogburn to the Sacred Order of Priests at Church of the Redeemer, Squirrel Hill, also on June 21.
- Three individuals took General Ordination Exams in January.
- With the consent of the Standing Committee, the Bishop granted candidacy to Bert Daly and John Feuerstein. Subsequently, Bert Daly was approved for Ordination to the Diaconate.
- The Commission and Bishop accepted the nominations of Ms. Shana Hutchings of St. Andrew's, Highland Park; the Rev. Howard Gillette, Deacon; and Ms. Alyse Viggiano of St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon, to be considered for postulancy. Subsequently the Bishop, upon recommendation of the Commission, granted Postulancy to the Rev. Mr. Gillette and Ms. Viggiano.
- Ministry Exploration Day was held on April 12, 2014, at St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon. This year the name was changed to reflect the broader scope of the event. Approximately 30 people participated, including potential nominees for Holy Orders with spouses and clergy.
- Commission member Jessie Hipolit continued her work on encouraging and supporting lay ministry with the Commission, clergy, and parishes of the Diocese.

Carolyn R. Booker, St. Stephen's, Wilkinsburg, was elected at Convention to serve a three-year term on the Commission. The bishop appointed Bethany Hamill, Christ Church, North Hills, to serve a three-year term as member of the Commission. We welcomed the Rev. Cathy Brall, Canon Missioner, as staff participant in the Commission. Nancy Lapp and Robert Goode concluded their terms as members of the Commission, and we are grateful for their faithful service.

I thank Bishop McConnell for his leadership and support, and each member of the commission for their service during the year: the Rev. Lenny Anderson, St. Francis-in-the-Fields, Somerset; Carolyn Booker, St. Stephen's, Wilkinsburg; the Rev. Lynn Chester Edwards, retired priest; Robert Goode, Redeemer, Squirrel Hill; Jessie Hipolit, Emmanuel, North Side; the Rev. Tim Hushion, Trinity Cathedral; Nancy Lapp, Holy Cross, Homewood; the Rev. Kris McInnes, St. David's, Peters Township; Steve Stagnitta, St. Andrew's, Highland Park; the Rev. Ann Staples, St. Thomas, Northern Cambria; Daryl Walker, All Saints, Brighton Heights; and ex officio as staff, the Rev. Scott Quinn, Canon to the Ordinary, the Rev. Jay Geisler, Canon for Formation, and the Rev. Cathy Brall, Canon Missioner.

Respectfully submitted, The Rev. Louis B. Hays, Chairperson