STANDING COMMITTEE Report to Diocesan Convention 2023

This report covers the business conducted by the Standing Committee from November 2022 through October 2023.

The Committee met November 8, 2022, November 30, 2022, December 13, 2022, January 3, 2023, February 14, 2023, April 11, 2023, April 22, 2023, May 9, 2023, June 22, 2023, September 12, 2023, October 10, 2023, and October 14, 2023. All meetings were conducted over Zoom with the exception of December 13, 2022 and April 22, 2023 (Calvary Church, East Liberty) and October 10, 2023 (St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon).

In January, the Standing Committee participated in a Joint Diocesan Leadership Meeting with the Bishop, Board of Trustees, and Diocesan Council.

At our organizational meeting in January 2023 the Rev. Neil Raman was elected President, the Rev. Dr. Moni McIntyre was elected Secretary, Florence Atwood was appointed Chaplain, and the Rev. Nancy Threadgill was appointed as the Standing Committee's liaison to the Commission on Ministry.

Episcopal Consents Given

- Diocese of Colombia (The Rev. Elías García Cárdenas)
- Diocese of Ohio (Bishop Coadjutor) (The Rev. Anne Jolly)
- Diocese of New York (Bishop Coadjutor) (The Rev. Matthew Foster Heyd)
- Diocese of Central Florida (The Rev. Canon Dr. Justin Holcomb)
- Diocese of Olympia (Bishop Provisional; Reception from Anglican Church of Canada) (The Right Rev. Melissa Skelton)
- Diocese of New Jersey (Rev. Canon Sally French)
- Diocese of West Texas (Bishop Coadjutor) (The Rev. David Read)
- Armed Forces and Federal Ministries (Bishop Suffragan) (The Rev. Ann Ritonia)
- Diocese of Maryland (Bishop Coadjutor) (The Rev. Canon Carrie Schofield-Broadbent)
- Diocese of Arkansas (The Rev. John T. W. Harmon)
- Diocese of Southern Ohio (The Rev. Canon Kristin Uffelman White)
- Diocese of Albany (The Rev. Jeremiah Williamson)

Episcopal Consents Withheld

Diocese of Florida (Bishop Coadjutor) (The Rev. Charlie Holt)

Recommendations for Candidacy

- Cynthia Gainer (Diaconate)
- James Miorelli (Priesthood)
- Jack Brownfield (Priesthood)
- Nicole Starr (Priesthood)

- Deanna Briody (Priesthood)
- Theodore Somes (Priesthood)

Consents for Ordination

- Consented to the ordination of James Miorelli to the Diaconate
- Consented to the ordination of Cynthia Gainer to the Diaconate

Vacancies on Diocesan Boards and Committees

 Appointed Louise Mead (St. Mark's, Johnstown) as District 4 Representative to Diocesan Council to fill a vacancy

Property Issues

- Consented to return the Church of Good Shepherd Hazelwood to secular use
- Consented to the demolition of an unusable structure on the grounds of St. Michael's,
 Wayne Township
- Consented to the construction of a Columbarium by the Church of the Redeemer, Squirrel

Appointments

 Appointed Mr. Jon Delano as Judge of Elections and The Very Rev. Aidan Smith as Deputy Judge of Elections for the 2022 Diocesan Convention (Joint Appointment with Bishop).

I want to express my thanks to the Rev. Dr. Moni McIntyre and Florence Atwood for their work on organizing the Standing Committee while I was on paternity leave (February through early May).

It has been a joy and privilege to serve on the Standing Committee. I want to express my sincere thanks to the current members of the Standing Committee: Steve Stagnitta, Kathy Baird, the Rev. Dr. Moni McIntyre (*Secretary*), Florence Atwood (*Chaplain*), the Rev. Nancy Threadgill, Wesley Rohrer, The Rev. Laura Di Panfilo, and to the Rev. Annis Rogers and Lisa Brown, whose terms expired at the end of 2022.

Respectfully submitted, The Rev. Neil Kumar Raman President