## DIOCESAN COUNCIL Report to Diocesan Convention 2023

Diocesan Council met four times so far in 2023 with our final meeting scheduled for December 12<sup>th</sup>, in person and via Zoom at Calvary Episcopal Church, where we will elect our officers for 2024 and welcome newly elected members from the 2023 Diocesan Convention. The mission for Diocesan Council is set forth in Section 1 of Canon V:

"The Diocesan Council shall act on behalf of the Convention when the Convention is not in session. In particular, it shall evaluate the policies, programs, and other activities of the Diocese, make recommendations to the Convention, and give general oversight to the work, mission, budget and human resources of the Diocese. The Council shall perform such other functions and tasks as the Convention may assign to it."

Diocesan Council is "convention in recess," empowered to do what the convention may do in the months between our annual diocesan gathering.

Specifically, membership in Diocesan Council consists of 12 elected members, 8 of whom are elected to and also serve on the Standing Committee while the remaining 4 lay deputy representatives are elected from each of the four diocesan districts on a rolling basis, serving up to 4 year terms. District representatives served the following terms: District 1 – Bruce Quayle, Christ Church (North Hills), serving through 2023, District 2 – Bryan Webb, Redeemer, Squirrel Hill, serving through 2026, District 3 Constance Davis, Atonement, Carnegie, serving through 2025 and District 4, Louise Mead, St. Mark's, Johnstown, serving through 2024. I would like to thank Joyce Donadee and Adam Sprankle who served part of the year as representatives for their Districts (1 and 4, respectively). District 1 will elect a new member as part of this year's diocesan convention process.

Elected lay district representatives may serve 2 consecutive 4-year terms before needing to step aside for at least a year. The President of Diocesan Council must be selected from the opposite order of the individual elected as President of Standing Committee. I am honored to have been elected to serve for a third year, joined again by the Rev. Dr. Moni McIntyre (St. Stephen's McKeesport) as Vice President, a fellow member of the Standing Committee. Diocesan Council meets a minimum of 5 times per year and may meet in person or virtually. The Secretary of Diocesan Council may be selected from outside of council and we were very grateful for the support of our Bishop's Executive Assistant Crystal Goforth for the first part of the year and Andrea Rath who is now serving in that role. Boardable is the online platform that facilitates the creation and distribution of agendas/minutes, notification and scheduling of meetings and communication and circulation of meeting documents and information for all members of Diocesan Council. Meeting minutes are available upon request.

The remaining 6 members, by virtue of their membership on the Standing Committee are: The The Rev. Neil Raman (Calvary, East Liberty and President of the Standing Committee), Florence Atwood (Calvary, East Liberty), Wesley Rohrer, St. Andrew's, Highland Park (2026), The Rev. Laura Di Panfilo, (St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon), Steve Stagnitta (St. Andrew's, Highland Park) and The Rev. Nancy Threadgill (St. Mark's, Johnstown).

Ex-Officio members include the Chancellor, Andrew Roman, the Secretary of Convention, Rev. Canon James Shoucair, the President of the Board of Trustees, Sheila Stagnitta, and our bishop, The Rt. Rev. Dr. Ketlen Solak.

A number of other diocesan leaders are also invited to attend our meetings, including the canons, diocesan staff, chairs of diocesan organizations and committees (e.g., Committee on Constitution and Canons, the Commission on Ministry, Social Justice and Outreach Committee, etc.).

What did Diocesan Council do this year?

Initial business included the appointment of the Budget and Assessment Working Group (BAWG) with chair Steve Stagnitta, chair, and members, the Rev. Dr. Moni McIntyre, Wes Rohrer, Betti Rottschaefer, Bryan Webb, and Elaine Zevkovich; the Nominating Committee, Jon Delano and The Rev. Brandon Cooper as co-chairs, which seeks election candidates to fill open diocesan positions; Diocesan appointment to the Growth Fund Committee, Connie Davis, the Judge of Audits, Betti Rottschaefer, and Judge of Assessments, Bryan Webb. Florence Atwood was appointed as Secretary.

Standard business at each of these meetings includes a written and/or oral report from the bishop and the canons, from the presidents of the Standing Committee and the Board of Trustees, from the Chancellor, from the Treasurer and Director of Administration (both the treasurer's report and a property report), from the chair of the BAWG, and then various diocesan committees, missions and organizations including the Beloved Community Initiative, Evangelism and Faith Formation, Compensation Committee, Growth Fund, Commission on Ministry, Children's Ministry Team, Trinity Cathedral, Episcopal Church Women (ECW) and the Social Justice and Outreach Committee (SJO).

In addition, Council completed its canonically required measures and appointments. This includes approving necessary clergy housing resolutions, adopting financial best practices and policy proposed by the Treasurer and Director of Administration, reallocating dollars in the budget, and awarding a variety of Parish Mission Grants and Financial Partnership Grants offering direct financial assistance to parishes and chosen outside agencies and granting relief (at various levels) from diocesan assessments, as recommended by BAWG. Council also

recommended 2023 Diocesan Convention approval of the 2024 Clergy Compensation and Medical Plan Guides and the 2024 Diocesan Budget. Changes to the Diocesan Canon XXVI were proposed and approved to ensure that there are 4 deputies and 1 alternate in both clergy and lay in any General Convention.

We are blessed with the continuing service of those who attend and actively participate in our meetings so faithfully. We celebrated the well-earned retirement of The Rev. Dr. Cathy Brall (PTS Episcopal House of Study Coordinator) and the transition of the Episcopal Church Women (ECW) to a new governance model where the following officers were appointed in fulfillment of their newly approved bylaws for 3 year terms: Ann McStay, President, Vice President and Chair of the ECW Executive Board, Treasurer and Vice Chair Elaine Zevkovich, and Betty Duckstein, ECW Board Member.

It continues to be a privilege for me to serve as president of Council welcoming new and changing roles of diocesan staff and new council members. I am so proud of all who raised their hand to volunteer for additional duties and committee membership this year, for those who faithfully submitted written reports in advance of our meetings, and those who stepped in to fill District representative vacancies during the year.

Respectfully submitted, Kathy Baird President, Diocesan Council