DIOCESAN COUNCIL Report to Diocesan Convention 2022 Kathy Baird, President

Diocesan Council met four times so far in 2022 with our final meeting scheduled for December, where we will elect our officers for next year. The mission for Diocesan Council is set forth in Section 1 of Canon V:

"The Diocesan Council shall act on behalf of the Convention when the Convention is not in session. In particular, it shall evaluate the policies, programs, and other activities of the Diocese, make recommendations to the Convention, and give general oversight to the work, mission, budget and human resources of the Diocese. The Council shall perform such other functions and tasks as the Convention may assign to it."

Diocesan Council is "convention in recess," empowered to do what the convention may do in the months between our annual diocesan gathering.

Specifically, membership in Diocesan Council consists of 12 elected members, 8 of whom are elected to and also serve on the Standing Committee while the remaining 4 lay deputy representatives are elected from each of the four diocesan districts on a rolling basis, serving up to 4 year terms. Since this was the second year of the new rotation, the district representatives serve the following terms with a new representative to be elected at Diocesan Convention for District 3: District 1 - Joyce Donadee, St. Brendan's, Franklin Park, serving through 2023, District 2 - Martha Shelby, Holy Cross, Homewood, serving through 2022, District 3 Constance Davis, Atonement, Carnegie, serving through 2025 and District 4, Adam W. Sprankle, St. Mark's, Johnstown, serving through 2024. District 2 will elect a new member as part of this year's diocesan convention process.

Elected lay district representatives may serve 2 consecutive 4-year terms before needing to step aside for at least a year. The President of Diocesan Council must be selected from the opposite order of the individual elected as President of Standing Committee. I am honored to have been elected to serve for a second year, joined again by the Rev. Dr. Moni McIntyre (St. Stephen's McKeesport) as Vice President, a fellow member of the Standing Committee. Diocesan Council meets a minimum of 5 times per year and may meet in person or virtually. The Secretary of Diocesan Council may be selected from outside of council and we were very grateful that Ms. Ann McStay agreed to take on this role as we transitioned our administrative processes to Boardable. Boardable is an online platform that facilitates the creation and distribution of agendas/minutes, notification and scheduling of meetings and communication and circulation of meeting documents and information for all members of Diocesan Council.

The remaining 6 members by virtue of their membership on the Standing Committee are: The The Rev. Neil Raman (Calvary, East Liberty and President of the Standing Committee), Florence

Atwood and Lisa Brown, Secretary (St. Paul's Mt. Lebanon), The Rev. Annis Rogers (St. Thomas, Northern Cambria), Steve Stagnitta (St. Andrew's, Highland Park) and The Rev. Nancy Threadgill (St. Mark's, Johnstown).

Ex-Officio members include Andrew Roman (Chancellor), the Rev. Canon James Shoucair (Secretary of Convention), and Sheila Stagnitta (President of the Board of Trustees), and The Rt. Rev. Dr. Ketlen Solak (Bishop).

A number of other diocesan leaders are also invited to attend our meetings, including the canons, diocesan staff, chairs of diocesan organizations and committees (e.g., Committee on Constitution and Canons, the Commission on Ministry, Social Justice and Outreach Committee, etc.).

What did Diocesan Council do this year? Since the last convention in October 2021, Council has met five times: December 14, 2021, and February 8, April 5, June 13, and September 13, 2022, all held virtually via Zoom. Our next meeting to elect officers for 2022 will be on December 13. The extensive minutes of all these meetings are available upon request.

Initial business included the appointment of the chair (Steve Stagnitta) and members (the Rev. Dr. Moni McIntyre, Martha Shelby, Betti Rottschaefer) of the Budget and Assessment Working Group (BAWG), the Nominating Committee (Jon Delano and Adam Sprankle as initial members) which seeks election candidates to fill open diocesan positions, Diocesan appointment to the Growth Fund Committee (Connie Davis), the Judge of Audits (Betti Rottschaefer) and Judge of Assessments (Martha Shelby).

Standard business at each of these meetings includes a written and/or oral report from the bishop and the canons, from the presidents of the Standing Committee and the Board of Trustees, from the Chancellor, from the Treasurer (both the treasurer's report and a property report), from the chair of the BAWG, and then various diocesan committees, missions and organizations like the Beloved Community Initiative, Recovery Ministries, Compensation Committee, Growth Fund, Commission on Ministry, Children's Ministry, Trinity Cathedral, Episcopal Church Women (ECW) and the Social Justice and Outreach Committee.

In addition, Council completed its canonically required measures and appointments. This includes approving necessary clergy housing resolutions, the annual diocesan budget, reallocating dollars in the budget, and awarding a variety of Parish Mission Grants (3), Digital Mission Grants (3), direct financial assistance to parishes and chosen outside agencies and granting relief (at various levels) from diocesan assessment, as recommended by BAWG. Council also approved various resolutions for diocesan convention including the ability to hold a hybrid (in person and Zoom) convention this year and the Clergy Compensation and Medical Plan Guides were approved for ratification at convention. Changes to the Canons XIV and XII were approved to reflect the changed role of Trinity Cathedral in its formula for assessment. Also as a result of Diocesan Council realignment in 2021, the task of modifying our by-laws was completed and approved.

We are blessed with the continuing service of those who attend and actively participate in our meetings so faithfully. While we celebrated the well-earned retirements of Canon Kathi Workman (Treasurer), the Rev. Jay Geisler (Canon for Recovery Ministries), we welcomed Elaine Zevkovitch as our new Treasurer and Director of Administration and the gentle shepherding of our new Bishop, the Rt. Reverend Ketlen Solak. And a special salute to Andy Muhl who continues to assist us with implementing enabling technology that was new to us all.

It continues to be a privilege for me to serve as president of Council during this year of transition to the leadership of our new Bishop, new diocesan staff and the modernization of our support systems. I am so proud of all who raised their hand to volunteer for additional duties and committee membership this year, for those who faithfully submitted written reports in advance of our meetings, to Dr. Frances Dannenberg who assisted in the transition of her responsibilities to Ann and to past president Jon Delano for kindly guiding me through my second year of leadership in our new Diocesan Council. I am still learning.

Respectfully submitted, Kathy Baird President, Diocesan Council