## **RESOLUTION FOUR: STANDING COMMITTEE—limit number of members from any one parish to 2**

The Constitution and Canons Committee moves the following change to Article IX, Section 1 of the Diocesan Constitution. This is the second vote on this amendment, and assumes Resolution Three has been approved.

## **Article IX** (Current version with *changes* to be made)

Section 1. The Convention shall elect a Standing Committee, to consist of four members of the Clergy and four Lay persons as follows:

At each Annual Convention one member of the Clergy and one Lay person shall be elected for a period of four years. No member of the Standing Committee shall be eligible to succeed himself or herself until the next Convention following the expiration of term of office. No individual parish shall be eligible to provide more than two concurrent members to the Standing Committee, regardless of Clergy or Lay status.

The Standing Committee, when there is no Bishop, Bishop-Coadjutor, or Bishop Suffragan, or no one of them is capable of acting, shall be the Ecclesiastical Authority of the Diocese.

## **Article IX, Section 1** (clear copy, new wording)

Section 1. The Convention shall elect a Standing Committee, to consist of four members of the Clergy and four Lay persons as follows:

At each Annual Convention one member of the Clergy and one Lay person shall be elected for a period of four years. No member of the Standing Committee shall be eligible to succeed himself or herself until the next Convention following the expiration of term of office. No individual parish shall be eligible to provide more than two concurrent members to the Standing Committee, regardless of Clergy or Lay status.

The Standing Committee, when there is no Bishop, Bishop-Coadjutor, or Bishop Suffragan, or no one of them is capable of acting, shall be the Ecclesiastical Authority of the Diocese.