# THE STANDING COMMITTEE

This report covers the business conducted by the Standing Committee from September 2017 through August 2018. The Committee met every month except for October 2017 and August 2018.

### **Episcopal Consents**

- Diocese of Delaware (the Rev. Kevin Brown)
- Diocese of East Tennessee (the Rev. Brian Cole)
- Diocese of Bethlehem (the Rev. Canon Kevin Nichols)
- Diocese of Rio Grande (the Rev. Canon Michael Buerkel Hunn)
- Diocese of Newark (the Rev. Carlye J. Hughes)
- Diocese of Western Kansas (the Rev. Mark A. Cowell)
- Diocese of Virginia (consent to holding an election for a Suffragan Bishop)

## Approval for Admission as Candidates for Holy Orders

- Kim Karashin
- Julie Smith

#### **By-law Revisions**

- St. Michael's of the Valley, Ligonier
- Church of the Advent, Jeannette
- St. Thomas, Canonsburg

#### Vacancies on Diocesan Boards and Committees

- Committee on Constitution and Canons (the Rev. Bruce Robinson)
- District 1 vacancy on Diocesan Council (the Rev. Howard Gillette)
- District 4 vacancy on Board of Trustees (Virginia Tuscano)
- Judge of Elections for 2018 Diocesan Convention (Jon Delano)

## **<u>Title III Return to Ordained Episcopal Ministry</u>**

• The Rev. Simon Barnes

## **Property Issues**

- Agreement regarding use of parish property, between the Episcopal Diocese of Pittsburgh and nine parishes currently participating in the Anglican Diocese of Pittsburgh
- Christ Church, North Hills sale of rectory
- Church of the Transfiguration, Clairton sale of church building
- Calvary Episcopal Church, East Liberty grant of driveway easement to residential neighbors

The Standing Committee continues to take seriously its responsibility as Council of Advice to the bishop and understands that this must be a two-way street. In addition, the Standing Committee has begun the process of organizing a mutual ministry review for the diocese as a whole, after learning about similar programs in other dioceses. An outside consultant has been identified.

The agreement mentioned above with the nine Anglican parishes was finalized in October 2017 and signed by all parties in February 2018. We believe that it represents a model for mutually productive ministry and ongoing dialogue, and that it could be a milestone not only for our diocese, but for the wider Episcopal Church. I would like to thank the other members of the negotiating team on which I was grateful to serve: Jerry Stephenson, the Rev. James Simons, the Rev. Leslie Reimer, and the Rev. Kris

Opat; our counterparts on the Anglican side (whose names have not been made public); our Chancellor, Andy Roman; the Board of Trustees as a whole; our mediators, Mark Nordenberg and David McClenahan; and not least of all, our Bishops Ken Price and Dorsey McConnell for spiritual counsel and support over many years.

It is a joy and a privilege to serve on the Standing Committee, and I would like to thank former members John Adams and the Rev. James Simons, current members Kathy Baird, Bob Johnston, Darrell Powell, the Rev. Noah Evans, the Rev. Eric McIntosh, the Rev. Kris Opat and the Rev. Leslie Reimer, Bishop McConnell, the Rev. Canon Shawn Malarkey and Andy Roman for their unflagging wisdom, humor and support.

Respectfully submitted, Russell Ayres President