COMMISSION ON MINISTRY

The Commission on Ministry is established pursuant to Title III of the Canons of the Episcopal Church and Canon XXX of the Episcopal Diocese of Pittsburgh in order to advise and assist the bishop "in the determination of present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons; and in the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry, and assessment of readiness therefore."

Since the 2017 Diocesan Convention, the Commission on Ministry will have met ten times, including the annual Winter Interview Day and Ministry Exploration Day.

Highlights of the year include:

- The Bishop granted Postulancy to Paul Barker of St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon. Paul is discerning a call to the Diaconate.
- The Bishop granted Candidacy to Kim Karashin of St. Peter's, Brentwood, and Julie Smith of Redeemer, Squirrel Hill.
- One individual took the General Ordination Examinations in January 2018.
- A practicum for newly-ordained priests began under the leadership of the Rev. Jonathon Jensen.
- The Annual Winter Interview Day was held on January 20, 2018, and featured interviews with two individuals.
- Ministry Exploration Day was held on April 21, 2018, at Calvary, East Liberty.
- The Rev. Lorena Ringle organized an overnight retreat for individuals in the process, which was held at the Kearns Spirituality Center on May 11-12.

The Rev. Eric McIntosh of St. James, Penn Hills, was re-elected at last year's convention to serve a second three-year term on the commission. Ms. Eileen Sharbaugh was appointed in February 2018 to serve a three-year term ending in 2020.

The Rev. Lou Hays, chair of the Commission on Ministry, resigned from the commission in October 2017. The Rev. Michelle Boomgaard of St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon, resigned from the commission in September 2017. Ms. Bethany Hamill resigned from the commission in January 2018. The Rev. Charlie Hamill resigned from the commission in January 2018.

I thank Bishop McConnell for his leadership and support, and each member of the Commission for their service during the year: Ms. Carolyn Booker, St. Stephen's, Wilkinsburg; the Rev. Jonathon Jensen, Calvary, East Liberty; the Rev. Eric McIntosh, St. James, Penn Hills; the Rev. Lorena Ringle, Christ Church, North Hills; Ms. Eileen Sharbaugh, St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon; Mr. Steve Stagnitta, St. Andrew's, Highland Park; the Rev. Ann Staples, retired Deacon; Ms. Daryl Walker, All Saints, Brighton Heights; and ex-officio as staff, the Rev. Scott Quinn, Canon Pastor; the Rev. Jay Geisler, Canon for Ordained Vocations; and the Rev. Shawn Malarkey, Canon to the Ordinary.

Respectfully submitted, The Rev. Kris Opat Chair