# Recommendations are now being taken by the Nominating Committee for the following positions to be elected at the 152nd Diocesan Convention, November 10 & 11, 2017, **Christ Episcopal Church, North Hills**

### Standing Committee (Article IX, sections 1-7)

### One clergy and one layperson to be elected to four-year terms ending 2021

The Standing Committee consists of four clergy and four laypersons and acts primarily as the council of advice to the Diocesan Bishop. It also fills vacancies in electable seats on diocesan bodies or committees that may occur during the recess of the Convention. If there is no Diocesan Bishop, or they are incapacitated, the Standing Committee becomes the Ecclesiastical Authority of the Diocese. Typically meets monthly on the second Tuesday at 4:00 p.m.

#### **Board of Trustees (Article X, sections 1-2)**

#### Two laypersons to be elected to three-year terms ending 2020

The Board of Trustees consists of the Bishop, one layperson elected from each District, seven laypersons elected by Diocesan Convention, and five laypersons appointed by the bishop. This body is responsible for the collection and disposition of all real and personal property and financial resources gifted to or received by the diocese, for the purpose of the aid, benefit and advancement of the diocese, its parishes and organizations. Typically meets monthly on the second Tuesday at 12:00 Noon.

## **Committee on Constitution and Canons (Canon X)**

## One clergy and one layperson to be elected to three-year terms ending 2020

This body, comprised of three clergy and three lay persons, examines the canons of the diocese and makes recommendations for additions and revisions that may be necessary. Meets as needs require.

#### Cathedral Chapter (Canon XIV)

## One clergy and one layperson to be elected to three-year terms ending 2020

The three clergy and three lay representatives to this body serve as the Convention's voice on the Trinity Cathedral Chapter, which oversees the mission and availability of the cathedral church to the entire diocese. Meets three times annually - February, May and November.

#### **Disciplinary Board (Canon XIX)**

## Two clergy and one layperson to be elected to three-year terms ending 2020

Comprised of five clergy and four lay persons, the Disciplinary Board tries cases brought against priests or deacons of the diocese who are charged with an actionable offense in which ecclesial discipline may be required. Meets as need arises.

### **Commission on Ministry (Canon XXX)**

#### One member to be elected to a three-year term ending 2020

The Commission on Ministry assists the Bishop in matters pertaining to the enlistment and selection of persons for Ministry, in the guidance and pastoral care of all candidates for Holy Orders, and in the examination of persons for Holy Orders. The Bishop appoints a number of lay and clergy members sufficient to carry out the duties of the Commission. In addition, one member is elected each year by Convention. All terms are for three years. Typically meets monthly, usually the fourth Tuesday at 5:00 p.m.

#### **Growth Fund**

## One member to be elected to a three-year term ending 2020

This body consists of two members appointed by Diocesan Council, two appointed by the Board of Trustees and two elected by Diocesan Convention. The Growth Fund makes grants upon special request from an account funded by parish contribution, and meets as needed.

#### In addition, the following will be elected by District at convention to three-year terms ending 2019:

**District 1**: Diocesan Council, one layperson; and **District 3**: Diocesan Council, one layperson

District 4: Diocesan Council, one clergy; and Board of Trustees, one layperson

**District 2**: Diocesan Council, one layperson Board of Trustees, one layperson