COMMISSION ON MINISTRY

The Commission on Ministry is established pursuant to Title III of the Canons of the Episcopal Church and Canon XXX of the Episcopal Diocese of Pittsburgh in order to advise and assist the bishop "in the determination of present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons; and in the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry, and assessment of readiness therefore." (Title III, Canon 2, Section 2, Constitution and Canons of the Episcopal Church, 2006)

Since the 2012 diocesan Convention, the Commission on Ministry will have met six times, including the winter interview day and the annual ordination exploration day. Highlights of the year include:

- The bishop, commission, and Standing Committee had informal interviews with six individuals in the discernment process and four candidacy interviews at the winter interview day.
- The bishop ordained five individuals to the Sacred Order of Priests at Trinity Cathedral on December 15, 2012: Charles Hamill, Terence Johnston, Gwendollynn Santiago, John Schaeffer, and Todd Schmidtetter.
- Three individuals took General Ordination Exams in January.
- With the consent of the Standing Committee, the bishop granted candidacy to Benjamin DeHart, Eric McIntosh, William Ogburn, and Francis Yesko. Later, all were accepted for Ordination to the Diaconate. The bishop ordained Ben, Eric, and Frank to the Sacred Order of Deacons on June 15, 2013, at Trinity Cathedral, and William in New York City on May 15.
- The commission and bishop accepted the nomination of Mr. Shane Siciliano of Trinity Cathedral to be considered for postulancy.
- The annual ordination exploration day was held on April 13, 2013, at St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon. Approximately 30 people participated, including potential nominees for Holy Orders with spouses and clergy.
- The bishop, commission and Standing Committee interviewed Wally LaLonde for postulancy and Bert Daly for candidacy on September 7, 2013.
- Through the leadership of Jessie Hipolit, the commission continued to explore how best to encourage and support lay ministry within the diocese. The diocese, through Ms. Hipolit, was awarded a grant from the Roanridge Trust to fund an expanded lay ministry initiative.
- The Rev. Timothy Hushion was elected at Convention to serve a three-year term on the commission. The bishop appointed Daryl Walker and the Rev. Ann Staples to serve three-year terms as members of the commission.
- We thanked David Laughlin of St. Paul's, Kittanning, for the conclusion of his faithful service as a member of the commission.

I thank Bishop McConnell for his leadership and support, and each member of the commission for their service during the year: the Rev. Lenny Anderson, St. Francis-in-the-Fields, Somerset; the Rev. Lynn

Chester Edwards, retired priest; Robert Goode, Redeemer, Squirrel Hill; Jessie Hipolit, Emmanuel, North Side; the Rev. Tim Hushion, Trinity Cathedral; Nancy Lapp, Holy Cross, Homewood; the Rev. Kris McInnes, St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon; Steve Stagnitta, St. Andrew's, Highland Park; the Rev. Ann Staples, St. Thomas, Northern Cambria; Daryl Walker, All Saints, Brighton Heights; and ex-officio as staff, the Rev. Scott Quinn, Canon to the Ordinary, and the Rev. Jay Geisler, Canon for Formation.

Respectfully submitted, The Rev. Louis B. Hays Chairperson